The Game Of Lives // Shameful Finale
Thursday, 28 January 2016 @ 12:00// 0 comment(s)



The Game Of Lives (The Mortality Doctrine, #3) by James Dashner
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Release date: November 17th, 2015
Genres: YA, Sci-Fi, Dystopian
Pages:  352
Source: Bought it
Goodreads Purchase
The games Michael is playing have become all too real. Only weeks ago, sinking into the Sleep was fun. The VirtNet combined the most cutting-edge technology and the most sophisticated gaming for a full mind-body experience. And it was Michael's passion. But now every time Michael sinks, he risks his life.

The games are over. The VirtNet has become a world of deadly consequences, and Kaine grows stronger by the day. The Mortality Doctrine - Kaine's master plan - has nearly been realized, and little by little the line separating the virtual from the real is blurring. If Kaine succeeds, it will mean worldwide cyber domination. And it looks like Michael and his friends are the only ones who can put the monster back in the box - if Michael can figure out who his friends really are. From the New York Times bestselling author of the Maze Runner series comes The Game of Lives, the thrilling finale to the Mortality Doctrine series. Perfect for fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games.
REVIEW

Whoa. This book was such a BIG disappointment. I've been waiting for it for a WHOLE year and what did I get? Nothing remarkable, nothing special, nothing worth remembering. Let's just say that I ALMOST felt nothing throughout the whole 352 pages.

To be frank, I was in love with the previous books. Both ended with intriguing cliffhangers that kept me wondering for a whole year until the next book. Both also had the thing that kept me glued to my seat and refused to let me relax because of the anticipation and suspense. Both also made me recommend the series to most of my friends.

But I got none of those privileges while reading The Game Of Lives.

I actually liked the description of coding and hacking and the world-building. It kept my imagination running wild and spoiled. But sometimes it got to the point where it was all just too overwhelming. I could've sworn ⅔ of the book was Michael and his friends (but mostly only Michael himself) coding and diving into a pool of code, or being in pain, or having unfortunate events randomly happen to them for the umpteenth time.

The plot was too flat. While The Eye Of Minds and The Rule Of Thoughts were fast-paced and full of suspense and tension, this book had very few of those. It was fast-paced alright (in some places), but it wasn't full of tension. While reading, my reaction would only vary from: 'oh..' to 'I see..'. It didn't make me want to punch someone or scream and shriek, which I could positively declare a failure of a book. (Oh, wait. It did make me want to punch someone because of how bad it was)

As for the characters, I didn't feel attached at all to any of them. They were just kinda there. I knew them, I read about them, but I didn't particularly like or dislike any of them for any reason. Which, I could say, was worth taking a star off.

I read this book in a little more than a week. Which says a lot. I mostly read a book in one to three days. More than that? That means the book was freakin' boring OR I was just very busy. But this time, it was the former reason. I practically fell asleep many times while trying to read on. It was just that the book was too full of descriptions and narratives that bored my eyes out. I was cool with it at first, but ten pages of narration and description of Michael coding some shit? Not cool, man.

Not to mention somewhere about 30-40 pages toward the end, something happened that struck me as ridiculous and not making sense at all. It was as if the author wanted to write something surprising and unpredictable that (in his expectations) would come off better than the twists in the previous books. But FAILED miserably.

Overall, I'd say The Game Of Lives was an unsatisfying finale any series could've ever asked for. The Mortality Doctrine was one of my favorite series so far, but I guess now I have to scratch it off my list.

My rating: ★

Reviewed by Inas

Labels: , ,

Home

Post a Comment

Bonjour!
I'd be glad if you leave a comment here!
Say whatever you like! I don't bite!